Interview: EXO

Client: Dazed Digital (2016).


Despite the upheaval of three members leaving over the past two years, a fascinating musical and visual journey continues to unfold, at times entangled deep in their imagined mythology (such as the mind-mangling ‘Pathcode’ teasers for EXODUS), at others letting simple brilliance shine (the award-winning single “Growl”).


The music, too, has found natural stepping stones – from the jarring EDM experiment of “Wolf” to the joyous and sensual pop-funk of “Call Me Baby” and “Love Me Right”, to EX’ACT and its lead singles; the dark, shivering impatience of “Monster” (like a dangerous elder sibling of “Overdose”) and its cool, gleaming opposite, “Lucky One”, reminiscent of Daft Punk and Pharrell’s collaborations.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s